Call of Duty League

Call of Duty League

The League was announced in 2019 with its inaugural season starting in 2020. Activision’s Call of Duty League (CDL) is the flagship franchise ESports league for Call of Duty. For the first season, which began on January 24th, 2020, the league began with 12 clubs.

The Call of Duty League is a worldwide, city-based esports league made up of 12 professional teams from 11 different cities in North America and Europe. The Call of Duty League (CDL) is a professional esports league for the Call of Duty video game franchise, which is published by Activision. The Call of Duty League uses a series of permanent, city-based clubs sponsored by different ownership groups, like the Overwatch League and other traditional North American professional athletic leagues. 

2022 major leagues and where they are this year, this year it’s held in Texas, Minnesota, Toronto, and New York will host Majors. The Call of Duty League has released the complete schedule for the upcoming 2022 season, which includes four Major events hosted by four separate CDL teams. The Majors will currently be played on LAN Networks in several cities around North America. 

In the CDL there are many rules which teams follow and must do in each game, they face many weapons and perks and equipment being banned from the game, but the rules stand as the following: 

Five group play matches are held on each level. As the stage builds up to a Major, a team’s success in the Call of Duty League determines their Major seed. That means five stages and five major ESports events. Majors include all 12 teams in double-elimination tournaments. Three Home Series weeks lead up to each Major with head-to-head group matches that determine event seeding. 

Game modes each team must play within the playlist: 

  • Hardpoint: Teams score points for every second they hold a region of the map known as the hardpoint, like king of the hill. The hardpoint position shifts to a succession of specified locations, and the team with the most points wins.


  • Search and Destroy: Each round, players are given one life. The attacking team’s goal in each round is to plant and explode a bomb at one of two bomb locations. The defensive team’s goal is to keep this from happening. Whoever completes their goal first wins the round. Alternatively, any team can win the round by removing all five of the other team’s players. The teams rotate between offensive and defensive objectives, with the victorious team being the first to win six rounds. 


  • Domination: Teams compete for control of three static goals denoted by flags. Every five seconds, points are awarded based on the number of flags under a team’s possession. The more flags you control and the longer you keep them under your control, the more points you get. When time runs out, the team with the most points wins. 

How it works:

  • Official CDL matches are best-of-five, with teams playing three matches in each of the Hardpoint, Search and Destroy, and Domination modes, before returning to Hardpoint and Search and Destroy for a second time if necessary. 

Dates and Location:

Throughout the season, franchise teams alternate hosting tournaments known as home series events for example who and when:

  • 24th-26th April: Chicago Huntsmen Home Series
  • 8th-10th May: Florida Mutineers Home Series
  • 22nd-24th May: Seattle Surge Home Series
  • 5th-7th June: Minnesota Rokkr Home Series
  • 19th-21st June: Paris Legion Home Series
  • 10th-12th July: New York Subliners Home Series
  • 17th-19th July: London Royal Ravens Home Series
  • 24th- 26th July: Toronto Ultra Home Series


  • Atlanta FaZe.
  • Boston Breach.
  • Florida Mutineers.
  • London Royal Ravens.
  • LA Guerrillas.
  • LA Thieves.
  • Minnesota Rokkr.
  • New York Subliners.
  • OpTic Texas.
  • Paris Legion.

Who are the best teams?

Atlanta FaZe had the best record in the CDL (at the time of writing) with eight victories and a single defeat after winning their first home CDL tournament and reaching the semi-finals at CDL Los Angeles. FaZe has some of the most individually brilliant players in the league, including last year’s global winners Simp and aBeZy. When you combine it with James Crowder, one of the most experienced coaches in the world, Atlanta FaZe are unquestionably the team to defeat. The Chicago Huntsmen appear to be their most formidable opponents. The Huntsmen boast championship history with Scump and Formal on their roster, two players that were members of the 2015 to 2018 OpTic Gaming team, widely regarded as the finest Call of Duty team ever. 

Who is the best player? 

Last season, Chris “Simp” Lehr, who now plays with Atlanta FaZe, was largely regarded as the finest player in the world. In his debut year, he won the two most important tournaments and was named MVP in both. He received $1.3 million in prize money, a World Championship ring, and the title of Esports Rookie of the Year. This season, Simp continues at the top of the best player argument, but he faces stiff competition from Dylan “Envoy” Hannon of the Chicago Huntsmen, Adam “GodRx” Brown of the Minnesota RKKR, and Bradley “Wuskin” Marshall of the Minnesota RKKR (of the London Royal Ravens). 

2022 Call Of Duty League Format: 

The 2022 CDL season will follow a similar format to the previous season, with a few changes. The overall structure consists of four stages, each with its own LAN major, at which teams collect CDL points. Each major will feature all 12 CDL teams, although their seeding will be determined by their success in the qualifying weeks previously. The season will conclude once again with the CDL Playoffs and CDL Championship Weekend. The regular season’s best eight clubs will advance to the Playoffs.

Call of Duty Championship / League Previous Results

End Date Winner Runner Up Number of teams Winners Prize Money Total Prize Money
August 7, 2022 Los Angeles Thieves Atlanta FaZe 32 1,200,000 2,550,000
August 22, 2021 Atlanta FaZe Toronto Ultra 8 $1,200,000 $2,500,000
August 30, 2020 Dallas Empire Atlanta FaZe 32 $1,500,000 $4,600,000
August 18, 2019 eUnited 100 Thieves 32 $800,000 $2,000,000
August 19, 2018 Evil Geniuses Team KaLiBeR 32 $600,000 $1,500,000
August 13, 2017 OpTic Gaming Team Envy 32 $600,000 $1,500,000
September 9, 2016 Team Envy Splyce 32 $800,000 $2,000,000
March 29, 2015 Denial Esports Revenge 32 $400,000 $1,000.000
March 30, 2014 Complexity Gaming Team Envy 32 $400,000 $1,000,000
April 7, 2013 Fariko Impact Team Envy 32 $400,000 $1,000,000