Call of Duty Championship Betting Odds

The Call of Duty Championship is one of the largest and longest running esports tournaments in the Call of Duty betting franchise. Fans from across the globe tune in to watch the competition’s best players compete against each other in a select few game modes in order to be crowned the world champion.  It is an annual tournament that was first established in 2013 where the game is held on the current Call of Duty title for that year.

The tournament also known as ‘Champs’ has been held on a variety of consoles since its launch including Xbox 360, Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and most recently PC. All of the tournaments are held in the United States, typically California. There has been some variation in the tournament in recent years. In 2019 the annual tournament was renamed the Call of Duty World League then again in 2020 it changed to the Call of Duty League Championship. Although the tournament is largely the same with only some minor tweaks since 2013. 

The 2021 tournament was played in August 2021 in the Black Ops Cold War game at the Galen Center in Los Angeles. The tournament had the second highest prize pool ever in the competition and was $2.5 million dollars. The highest prize pool ever was in 2020 and was $4.6 million dollars. The 2021 Call of Duty Tournament Format:

The Call of Duty league is a series of competitions that takes place throughout the year. The season has 5 major stages in which the teams compete against each other to gain Call of Duty League (CDL) points.  The 8 teams with the highest tally of points from the season go into the playoffs (championship) at the end of the season in order to compete for the title whilst the bottom 4 teams in the CDL table are removed from competition. The ranking / seeding of each player in the final championship is also determined by the number of points they have gained during the 5 stages. 

The final 8 teams then progress and take part in a double elimination tournament (a player is out if they lose twice). Each round is played to the best of 5 games (first to 3 wins) with the final played to the best of 9 games (first to 5 wins).

There are 2 brackets, the winners bracket and the losers bracket. Teams 1-6 start in the winners bracket (teams lose twice and they are out) and teams 7-8 start in the losers bracket (teams lose one and they are out). This means that the teams playing in the winners bracket can lose once and they fall into the losers bracket so for them one loss isn’t the end of the esports tournament. For the grand final the winner of the winners bracket plays the winner of the losers bracket in order to compete to be crowned the World Champion.

Atlanta Faze won the grand final by 5 games to 3 against Toronto Ultra. The total prize money received by the winner was $1.2 million dollars. 

Call of Duty Championship Previous Results


End Date Winner Runner Up Number of teams Winners Prize Money Total Prize Money
August 7, 2022 Los Angeles Thieves Atlanta FaZe 32 1,200,000 2,550,000
August 22, 2021 Atlanta FaZe Toronto Ultra 8 $1,200,000 $2,500,000
August 30, 2020 Dallas Empire Atlanta FaZe 32 $1,500,000 $4,600,000
August 18, 2019 eUnited 100 Thieves 32 $800,000 $2,000,000
August 19, 2018 Evil Geniuses Team KaLiBeR 32 $600,000 $1,500,000
August 13, 2017 OpTic Gaming Team Envy 32 $600,000 $1,500,000
September 9, 2016 Team Envy Splyce 32 $800,000 $2,000,000
March 29, 2015 Denial Esports Revenge 32 $400,000 $1,000.000
March 30, 2014 Complexity Gaming Team Envy 32 $400,000 $1,000,000
April 7, 2013 Fariko Impact Team Envy 32 $400,000 $1,000,000